# ANC 1A

## ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 1A

SMD 1A01 – Max Ewart SMD 1A04 – Jeremy Sherman SMD 1A07 – Mukta Ghorpadey SMD 1A10 – Billy Easley SMD 1A02 – Dieter Lehmann Morales SMD 1A05 – Stephen Coleman Kenny SMD 1A08 – David Segall SMD 1A03 – Carlo Perri SMD 1A06 – Brandolon Barnett SMD 1A09 – James A. Turner

## February 8th, 2023 MEETING AGENDA

Virtual Meeting via Zoom Webinar

#### Call to Order

The meeting was held virtually via Zoom. Commissioner Dieter Lehman Morales called the meeting to order at 7:06 PM.

#### **ANC Administrative Matters**

Commissioner Mukta Ghorpadey took roll call.

The following Commissioners were marked as "present":

- SMD 1A01 Max Ewart
- SMD 1A02 Dieter Lehmann Morales
- SMD: 1A03 Carlo Perri
- SMD 1A04 Jeremy Sherman
- SMD 1A05 Stephan Coleman Kenny
- SMD 1A06 Brandolon Barnett
- SMD 1A07 Mukta Ghorpadey
- SMD 1A08 David Segall
- SMD 1A09 James A. Turner
- SMD 1A10 Billy Easley

A quorum was declared and determined by roll call at the beginning of the meeting, with 10 of 10 commissioners present.

Commissioner Dieter Lehman Morales provided verification notice that this meeting was noticed to the community via listsery, Commission newsletter, social media, website, and e-calendar.

Commissioner Dieter Lehman Morales introduced and moved to accept the agenda without changes.

Motion was approved by voice vote, 10 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

# **Community Announcements** (1 minute per speaker)

Several Commissioners, community members and government representatives made announcements.

<u>Committee Reports</u> (Committee reports are done as needed with 5 minutes per report, unless otherwise noted). Note: all committee meetings will be held virtually for the duration of the public health emergency. Please consult the calendar on <u>ancla.org</u> for up-to-date committee meeting links and phone numbers, or reach out to the committee chair listed below.

- Community Outreach and Events Committee
  - o Next committee meeting scheduled for: Tuesday, February 21, 2023 at 7:00pm
  - o Commissioner Mukta Ghorpadey, Chair
- Education, Youth and Family Committee
  - o Next committee meeting scheduled for: Wednesday, February 22, 2023 at 7:00pm

- o Community Chair Christine Miller, Chair
- Small Business and Economic Development Committee
  - o Next committee meeting scheduled for: Thursday, March 16, 2023 at 7:00pm
  - o Commissioner Jeremy Sherman and Commissioner Dave Segall, Chair
- Public Safety Committee
  - o Next committee meeting scheduled for: Tuesday, February 27, 2023 at 7:00pm
  - o Commissioner Carlo Perri, Chair
- Transportation, Parks, and Public Spaces Committee
  - o Next committee meeting scheduled for: Wednesday, February 15, 2023 at 7:00 pm
  - o Commissioner Stephan Kenny, Chair
- Housing Justice and Zoning Committee
  - o Next committee meeting scheduled for: Monday, February 20, 2023 at 7:00 pm
  - o Commissioner Max Ewart, Chair

#### Presentations (5 minutes per speaker, unless otherwise noted)

- Jerrod Allen, Ward 1 Liaison: Mayor's Office of Community Relations and Services (MOCRS)
- Diane Romo Thomas, Rock 'N Roll DC Half Marathon
- Travoris Culpepper, PEPCO
- Brianne Dornbush, District Bridges
  - Advertised the content on accesspointdc.com and Facade Improvement Grants
  - Open Streets
- Jackie Castaneda, Constituent Services: Office of Councilmember Brianne K. Nadeau

#### **Consent Agenda**

Consideration and possible action relating to a request for Commission approval of the Consent Agenda. All matters listed under "Consent" are considered by the Commission to be routine and will be enacted by one motion. Any Commissioner may, however, remove an item from the Consent Agenda by request. A motion to adopt the Consent Agenda is non-debatable.

- 1. Approval of the prior minutes (January, 2023)
- 2. Letter to Mayor for Office Space Funding Allocation

A Motion to approve the Consent Agenda was passed by voice vote, 10 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

#### **Official Business**

Official Business is limited to 5 minutes of presentation (unless extended by the Commission) followed by questions from the commission and audience until a motion to close discussion is passed, followed by an official ANC vote.

#### Issue (Sponsor)

- 1. Letter of Support for DB's "Juernes" Events (Coleman Kenny)
  - Motion in support of the letter of support for DB's was approved by voice vote, 10 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.
- 2. Letter of Support for NCBA's Carl F. West Development (Turner)
  Motion in support of the letter of support for NBCA's Carl F. West Development was approved by voice vote, 10 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.
- 3. Establishment of Public Life Task Force (Barnett)

Motion in support of the establishment of public life taskforce was approved by voice vote, 10 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining

4. Resolution of Support for B25-0068 "Street Vendor Advancement Amendment Act of 2023" (Ghorpadey)

Motion in support of the Resolution of Support for B25-0068 "Street Vendor Advancement Amendment Act of 2023 was approved by voice vote, 10 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining

# Adjournment - Goodnight!

Commissioner Dieter Lehman Morales introduced and moved to adjourn at 8:46 pm without objection.

**Note:** The next general meeting of ANC 1A is Wednesday, March 8, 2023. This meeting will be held virtually; more information for how to join the meeting will be available at <a href="mailto:ancla.org">ancla.org</a>.