Government of the District of Columbia



Office of Advisory Neighborhood Commissions 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Suite 11 Washington, DC 20004 (202) 727-9945

Memo

To: Angelique Rice, Associate Chief Financial Officer, OFRM

From: Kent Boese, Executive Director

Date: September 18, 2024

Re: FY2024 Q1 4C Allotment

Pursuant to Section 1-309.13(j)(1) of the DC Official Code, the Office of Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (OANC) reviewed ANC 4C's 3rd quarter FY 2023 financial report. We have not received the minutes approving the report or the receipts/invoices for transactions during the quarter. These documents are required for the review and should been submitted with the financial report which was due August 15, 2023.

The code requires, in part, that: Each quarterly report shall include copies of canceled checks, bank statements, grant request letters and grant disbursements, invoices and receipts, executed contracts, details about all contributions received during the time period covered by the quarterly report, the minutes of all meetings indicating the Commission's approval of disbursements during the time period covered by the quarterly report, and certification of the Commission's approval of the quarterly report signed by the Commission's Secretary.

Further, the ANC issued \$7,846.00 in checks (1282 through 1291) signed by the Treasurer only in violation of the DC Official Code 1-309.13 (2)(A)(i). The code states that: *An expenditure made by check shall be signed by at least 2 officers of the Commission, one of whom shall be the treasurer or Chairperson.*

Therefore, the OANC recommends withholding ANC 4C's 1st quarter FY 2024 allotment of \$4,635.24 for violating the above-referenced codes.

An additional \$3,210.76 will be withheld from the FY24 Q2 allotment to satisfy the violation. The ANC may cure this violation by providing the minutes approving the FY23 Q3 QFR and the invoices/receipts for all transactions during the quarter before September 30, 2024.

cc: Commissioner Thomas Defranco (4C03), Treasurer Commissioner Karen Livingston (4C06), Chairperson