

JASPAL BHATIA, SMD 1A01
CARLO PERRI, SMD 1A02
STEPHEN COLEMAN KENNY, SMD 1A05
MUKTA GHORPADEY. SMD 1A07
wacant, SMD 1A08
JAMES A. TURNER, SMD 1A09

THE MINUTES OF THE

December 11, 2024 REGULAR MEETING OF THE COMMISSION

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was held at the Latin American Youth Center (1419 Columbia Rd NW) and virtually via Zoom. Commissioner Dieter Lehmann Morales called the meeting to order at 7:03 PM. In accordance with D.C. Official Code §§ 1–207.42 and 1–309.11(c) the meeting was properly noticed in advance and open to the public.

ROLL CALL & DETERMINATION OF QUORUM

Commissioner Stephen Coleman Kenny took roll call.

The following Commissioners were marked as "present":

- SMD 1A01 Jaspal Bhatia
- SMD 1A02 Dieter Lehmann Morales
- SMD 1A04 Jeremy Sherman
- SMD 1A05 Stephan Coleman Kenny
- SMD 1A06 Anthony Thomas-Davis
- SMD 1A07 Mukta Ghorpadey
- SMD 1A09 James A. Turner
- SMD 1A10 Billy Easley

The following Commissioners were marked as "absent":

• SMD: 1A03 – Carlo Perri

A quorum was declared and determined by roll call at the beginning of the meeting, with 8 of 9 commissioners present.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Commissioner Dieter Lehman Morales introduced and moved to accept the agenda without changes. The Commission approved the agenda via unanimous voice vote.



JASPAL BHATIA, SMD 1A01 CARLO PERRI, SMD 1A02 STEPHEN COLEMAN KENNY, SMD 1A05 MUKTA GHORPADEY. SMD 1A07 vacant, SMD 1A08 JAMES A. TURNER, SMD 1A09

READING AND APPROVAL OF THE PRIOR MINUTES

The Chair called up the Reading and Approval of the Minutes from the previous regular meeting of the Commission on November 13, 2024. The motion to approve the minutes passed unanimously via voice vote.

REPORTS OF OFFICERS

Commissioner Kenny delivered the Secretary's Report.

Commissioner Easley delivered the Treasurer's Report.

GENERAL SPEECHES & PUBLIC COMMENTS/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Several Commissioners and community members made announcements.

PRESENTATIONS FROM THE COUNCIL & THE EXECUTIVE

Director Tiffany Crowe of the District Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) presented on the state of street vending in Columbia Heights. Director Crowe responded to questions from Commissioners and the public with the assistance of other DLCP staff.

Estelle McKinney of the Office of Ward 1 Councilmember Brianne K. Nadeau presented legislative updates and responded to questions from Commissioners and the public.

REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

Committee chairs delivered the following committee reports:

Standing Committees

- Committee on Education, Youth, and Family, ANC 1A Resident Christine Miller, Chair
- Committee on Housing Justice and Zoning, ANC 1A Resident Max Ewart, Chair
- Committee on Public Safety, Commissioners Carlo Perri and Billy Easley, Co-Chairs



JASPAL BHATIA, SMD 1A01 CARLO PERRI, SMD 1A02 STEPHEN COLEMAN KENNY, SMD 1A05 MUKTA GHORPADEY. SMD 1A07 vacant, SMD 1A08 JAMES A. TURNER, SMD 1A09

- Committee on Small Business and Economic Development, Commissioner Jeremy Sherman, Chair
- Committee on Transportation, Parks, and Public Spaces, Commissioner Stephen Coleman Kenny, Chair

Special Committee

• Permanent Special Committee on Public Life & Neighborhood Planning, Commissioner Anthony Thomas-Davis, Chair

COMMUNITY PRESENTATIONS

There were no Community Presentations.

CONSENT AGENDA

Any matters listed are pending on the "Consent Agenda" are considered to have the unanimous consent of all Commissioners and able to be passed by one vote. However, any Commissioner, by request, may remove an item from the consent agenda. A motion to adopt the Consent Agenda is non-debatable.

The Commission approved the following item on the Consent Agenda by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining:

LTR24-0022, FY2026 Budget Requests to DHCD, DCHA, and OTA, Regarding Housing Needs in Columbia Heights (sponsored by Commissioner Lehmann Morales at the request of Resident Chair Max Ewart, Committee on Housing Justice and Zoning)

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Unfinished business is measures held over from a previous meeting and is limited to 5 minutes of presentation (unless extended by the Commission) followed by questions from the Commission and public until a motion to close debate/discussion is passed or the Chair calls the question, which is followed by a vote of the Commission.

R24-0029 A Resolution Concerning the Management of Street Vending in Columbia Heights and Expressing No Confidence in the Columbia Heights-Mt. Pleasant Vending Zone Manager (Sponsored by Commissioner Thomas-Davis)



JASPAL BHATIA, SMD 1A01 CARLO PERRI, SMD 1A02 STEPHEN COLEMAN KENNY, SMD 1A05 MUKTA GHORPADEY. SMD 1A07 vacant, SMD 1A08 JAMES A. TURNER, SMD 1A09

- Motion to postpone consideration of R24-0029 indefinitely was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

NEW BUSINESS

Issue (Sponsor)

R24-0031 A Joint Recognition Resolution Concerning Commemoration of the Service of James A. Turner (Thomas-Davis, Lehmann Morales, Sherman, and Easley)

- Motion in support of R24-0031 was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

R24-0032 A Resolution Concerning Improvements to Implementation and Management of the Street Vending Zone Pilot Program in Columbia Heights (Thomas-Davis)

- Motion to table R24-0032 was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

LTR24-0025 A Letter Concerning Support for Zoning Commission Case 24-14, Map Amendment from RA-2 to RA-4, at 1459 Columbia Rd., NW (Lehmann Morales, at the request of Community Chair Max Ewart, Committee on Housing Justice and Zoning)

- Motion in support of LTR24-0025 was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

LTR24-0027 A Letter Concerning Monthly Street Vending Implementation Updates at ANC 1A Public Meetings to the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP), Councilmember Brianne K. Nadeau, and District Bridges

- Motion to table LTR24-0027 was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

OTHER BUSINESS



JASPAL BHATIA, SMD 1A01 CARLO PERRI, SMD 1A02 STEPHEN COLEMAN KENNY, SMD 1A05 MUKTA GHORPADEY. SMD 1A07 vacant, SMD 1A08 JAMES A. TURNER, SMD 1A09

A Motion to Adopt the 2024 ANC 1A Annual Report was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

ADJOURNMENT