

# THE MINUTES OF THE

## January 8, 2025 REGULAR MEETING OF THE COMMISSION

#### CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was held at the Latin American Youth Center (1419 Columbia Rd NW) and virtually via Zoom. Commissioner Dieter Lehmann Morales called the meeting to order at 7:05 PM. In accordance with D.C. Official Code §§ 1–207.42 and 1–309.11(c) the meeting was properly noticed in advance and open to the public.

## **ROLL CALL & DETERMINATION OF QUORUM**

Commissioner Dieter Morales was designated as Acting Chair in the absence of a Chair.

Commissioner Jeremy Sherman was designated to conduct the roll call in the absence of an elected Secretary. He then proceeded with the roll call

The following Commissioners were marked as "present":

- SMD 1A01 Jaspal Bhatia
- SMD 1A02 Dieter Lehmann Morales
- SMD 1A03 Carlo Perri
- SMD 1A04 Jeremy Sherman
- SMD 1A05 Christine Miller
- SMD 1A06 Anthony Thomas-Davi
- SMD 1A09 Jake Knoll
- SMD 1A10 Billy Easley

A quorum was declared and determined by roll call at the beginning of the meeting, with all commissioners present.

Commissioner Anthony Thomas Davis moved to add an amendment in the nature of a substitute to <u>R25-0002</u>, a Resolution concerning the Appointment of Committee Chairpersons and Members for 2025. No objections were made.

## **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Commissioner Dieter Lehman Morales introduced and moved to accept the agenda without changes. The Commission approved the agenda via unanimous voice vote.

A non-Commissioner in the audience graciously volunteered to count the votes in the officer's election in accordance with (e)(1) of the ANC Act.



#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

#### **Office of Chairperson**

Commissioner Jaspal Bhatia nominated Commissioner Sherman for the position of Chair

Commissioner Thomas Davis nominated himself for the position of Chair

Commissioner Morales nominated himself for the position of Chair

Commissioner Thomas-Davis requested for nominees to be allotted time for why they should be elected. Commissioner Thomas-Davis moved for three minutes to be allotted. Commissioner Sherman agreed.

Commissioners Sherman, Commissioner Thomas-Davis, and Morales gave a speech in support of their nomination

Commissioner Sherman: Bhatia, Miller, Knoll, Sherman, Perri, Easley

Commissioner Morales: Morales

Commissioner Thomas-Davis: None

Commissioner Thomas-Davis voted PRESENT

Commissioner Sherman was elected to Chairperson, with 6 votes; 1 voting Present

## **Office of Vice-Chairperson**

Commissioner Sherman nominated Commissioner Miller to the role

Commissioner Miller spoke about the position

Commissioner Miller: By voice vote, Commissioner Miller was elected to Vice Chair, 7-1

Commissioner Thomas-Davis voted PRESENT

#### **Office of Secretary**

Commissioner Perri nominated Commissioner Thomas-Davis to the role. He did not accept the nomination.

Commissioner Bhatia nominated Commissioner Easley to the role.

Commissioner Easley spoke about the position.

Commissioner Easley: By voice vote, Commissioner Easley was elected to Secretary, 7-1

Commissioner Thomas-Davis voted PRESENT



#### **Office of Treasurer**

Commissioner Knoll nominated Commissioner Morales to the role. He accepted the nomination.

Commissioner Morales spoke about the position

Commissioner Morales: By voice vote, Commissioner Morales was elected to Treasurer, 7-1

Commissioner Thomas-Davis voted PRESENT

Commissioner Easley moved to Community Presentations to the next point in the agenda

Commissioner Thomas-Davis raised a point of order, noting that we were going to move directly to Community Presentations

Chair Sherman denied the motion and the Commission moved to Community Presentations

## **READING AND APPROVAL OF THE PRIOR MINUTES**

The Chair called up the Reading and Approval of the Minutes from the previous regular meeting of the Commission on December 11, 2024. Commissioner Bhatia moved for approval and Commissioner Easley seconded. The motion to approve the minutes passed unanimously via voice vote.

## **REPORTS OF OFFICERS**

No officers reports were given due to the recent election of officers

## **GENERAL SPEECHES & PUBLIC COMMENTS/ANNOUNCEMENTS**

No community announcements

## PRESENTATIONS FROM THE COUNCIL & THE EXECUTIVE

**Diane Romo Thomas,** representing the 2025 St. Jude's RockNRoll DC Half Marathons presented to the Commission. She then responded to several comments from the Commission.

**Estelle McKinney** of the Office of Ward 1 Councilmember Brianne K. Nadeau presented legislative updates and responded to questions from Commissioners and the public.

## **REPORTS OF COMMITTEES**

No committee reports



## **COMMUNITY PRESENTATIONS**

There were no Community Presentations.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

Any matters listed are pending on the "Consent Agenda" are considered to have the unanimous consent of all Commissioners and able to be passed by one vote. However, any Commissioner, by request, may remove an item from the consent agenda. A motion to adopt the Consent Agenda is non-debatable.

Commissioner Perri moved to approve the consent agenda.

# Commissioners Bhatia and Knoll joined the <u>LTR25-0002</u>, A Letter of Support for 2025 St. Jude's RockNRoll DC Half Marathon

Commissioner Knoll seconded Commissioner Perri's motion to approve the consent agenda

The Commission approved the following items – all sponsored by Commissioner Easley - on the Consent Agenda by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining:

## LTR25-0002 A Letter of Support for 2025 St. Jude's RockNRoll DC Half Marathon

## **R25-0004** A Resolution Concerning the Installation of a Trashcan in SMD 1A10

#### **R25-0003** A Resolution Concerning the Re-Installation of a Trash Receptacle at 1001 Harvard Street NW

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Issue (Sponsor)

## **<u>R25-0001</u>** A Resolution Concerning the Public Meeting Schedule of Advisory Neighborhood Commission for 2025 (Commissioner Jeremy Sherman)

- Commissioner Thomas-Davis moved to amendment the measure by re-inserting all the original dates for General Body Meetings
- Commissioner Easley seconded, opening the amendment up for debate
- Concluding debate on the amendment, a voice vote was taken
- Commissioner Easley requested a roll call vote
  - Favor: Miller, Thomas-Davis, Perri
    - Present: Bhatia, Morales
    - Against: Knoll, Sherman, Easley
- Amendment fails
- Motion to pass R25-0001 was approved by voice vote, 6 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 1 voting "No"; 1 Abstaining.



<u>R25-0002</u> A Resolution Concerning the Appointment of Committee Chairpersons and Members for 2025 (Commissioner Dieter Morales)

- Commissioner Morales moved to consider the motion
- Commissioner Easley seconded
- Commissioner Thomas-Davis moved for his amendment in the nature of a substitute
- Commissioner Easley seconded
- Motion to amend and approve R24-0002 was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

LTR25-0001 A Letter to Tiffany Crowe, Director of the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) Concerning Street Vending Implementation & Management Updates (Commissioner Sherman and Bhatia)

- Commissioner Sherman moved to approve the motion
- Commissioner Easley seconded
- Motion in support of LTR25-0001 was approved by voice vote, 8 Commissioners voting "Yes"; 0 voting "No"; 0 Abstaining.

## ADJOURNMENT

- Commissioner Easley motioned to adjourn so he could eat dinner
- Commissioner Miller seconded

Yeremy S. Sherman **box** sign 4YY3KW25-1937Z8JZ

Billy Easley II

**box** SIGN 467LY9XQ-1937Z8JZ