

ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 3C

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

CLEVELAND PARK • MASSACHUSETTS AVENUE HEIGHTS • WOODLAND-NORMANSTONE • WOODLEY PARK

Single Member District Commissioners 01-Samuel Littauer; 02-Adam Prinzo; 03-Janell Pagats 04-Erin Beard; 05-Zach Shaben; 06-Jay Bose; 07-Gawain Kripke; 08-Rick Nash P.O. Box 4966 Washington, DC 20008 Website http://www.anc3c.org Email all@anc3c.org

Minutes

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 3C January 21, 2025 Public Meeting Zoom Meeting Online 7:00 PM

Establishment of Quorum:

Commissioner Pagats called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and announced there was a quorum.

Verification of Notice:

Commissioner Pagats confirmed that notice of the meeting was sent to the local community listservs, apartment listserv moderators, and posted on the ANC3C website and Twitter and sent out via the ANC3C Newsletter.

Approval of Agenda:

Commissioner Pagats moved to approve the agenda. The agenda was approved by voice vote.

Consent Calendar:

The motion to approve the consent calendar which included: November & December 2024 Public Meeting Minutes; Resolution Regarding the 2025 Rock 'N' Roll DC Half Marathon and 5K; Letter in Support for DDOT Safety Improvements around 28th St NW & Rock Creek Dr NW; Resolution Regarding Historic Preservation Review Board application for 3531 35th Street NW; Resolution Regarding Historic Preservation Review Board concept review application and DDOT permit for 3508 Lowell Street NW. The consent calendar was approved by voice vote.

Commission Business:

1. Election of Officers

Commissioner Prinzo moved the approval of Commissioner Pagats as Chair. The motion was approved by voice vote. Commissioner Littauer moved the approval of Commissioner Prinzo as Vice Chair. The motion was approved by voice vote. Commissioner Prinzo moved the approval of Commissioner Littauer as Secretary. The motion was approved by voice vote. Commissioner Prinzo moved the approval of Commissioner Kripke as Treasurer. The motion was approved by voice vote.

2. Consideration of the 2025/January 2026 meeting calendar

Commissioner Pagats moved the dates as follows Tuesday, February 18, 2025 - (Monday, February 17 is Presidents Day), Monday, March 17, 2025, Monday, April 21, 2025, Monday, May 19, 2025, Monday, June 16, 2025 (Hybrid - Virtual & In-Person), Monday, July 21, 2025, Monday, September 15, 2025, Monday, October 20, 2025, Monday, November 17, 2025 (Hybrid - Virtual & In-Person), Monday, December 15, 2025, Tuesday, January 20, 2026 - (Monday, January 19 is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day), the dates were approved by voice vote.

Commissioner Pagats moved to create a Task Force to explore hybrid, virtual, and in-person meetings for ANC3C. The Task Force was voluntarily joined by Commissioners Nash, Bose, Beard, and Shaben and approved by voice vote.

Commissioner Pagats moved to add a notice of meetings to include 4 physical announcement flyers in each SMD. Motion seconded by Commissioner Prinzo. The motion was approved by unanimous 8-0-0 vote.

3. Consideration of Chairs of existing Standing Committees: Safe Sustainable and Equitable Transportation Committee; Transparency and Public Processes Committee; Community Engagement & Grants Committee; Planning, Zoning, Housing and Economic Development; Residential Historic Preservation; Environmental Justice; and Public Safety

Commissioner Prinzo moved the following group of committee chairs en bloc:

- 1. Safe, Sustainable, and Equitable Transportation Commissioner Prinzo, Littauer and Beard
- 2. Transparency & Public Processes Commissioner Prinzo
- 3. Community Engagement & Grants Commissioner Kripke and Littauer
- 4. Planning, Zoning, Housing & Economic Development Commissioners Pagats and Prinzo and Bose
- 5. Residential Historic Preservation Review Commissioners Kripke and Nash
- 6. Environmental Justice Commissioner Kripke
- 7. Public Safety Commissioners Prinzo and Nash

Announcements:

- 1. SMD Reports:
 - (3C01) Commissioner Littauer welcomed DC Street Plants to SMD 3C01.
 - (3C02) Commissioner Prinzo announced a DDOT Pedestrian crossing adjustment on Woodley Road and Connecticut Ave to 35-seconds from 25-seconds.
 - (3CO3) Commissioner Pagats recognized the Ward 3 MOCRs for their facilitation of the shoveling of the Klingle Valley Bridge. Recognized the arrival of pandas at the National Zoo and raised concerns of increased traffic.
 - (3C04) Commissioner Beard raised concern over snow shoveling between 3701 and 3801 Connecticut Ave NW.
 - (3C07) Commissioner Kripke encouraged constituents to shovel their sidewalks in the event of snow.

2. Committee Reports:

• Safe, Sustainable Transportation Committee presented by Commissioner Prinzo: renominated

Kay Garcia, Adam Elkins, and Warren Gorlick. Approved by unanimous vote. Commissioner Littauer nominated Aden Yacobi to the committee. Mr. Yacobi was approved by unanimous vote. Commissioner Bose nominated Mac Hyde to the committee. Mr. Hyde approved by unanimous vote.

- Transparency & Public Process Committee presented by Commissioner Prinzo: Committee met in January and will reconvene in the coming weeks.
- Community Engagement & Grants presented by Commissioner Kripke: Welcomed Commissioner Littauer to committee, reviewed process for grant approval.
- Planning, Zoning, Housing, and Economic Development Committee presented by Commissioners Pagats: Next Meeting on Feb. 2nd with the Office of Planning regarding the Connecticut Avenue Redevelopment Plan. Commissioner Prinzo re-nominated John Goodman, confirmed by unanimous vote. Commissioner Bose nominated Mac Hyde, confirmed by unanimous vote.
- Residential Historic Preservation Committee presented by Commissioner Nash. Encouraged permit applicants to reach out to Commissioners Nash and Kripke. Commissioner Kripke nominated Trish (SP) Brown-Savage, confirmed by unanimous vote.
- Environmental Justice Committee presented by Commissioner Kripke: Re-nominated Madeline Gauthier (SP) and Laura Moore. Commissioner Beard nominated Heather Goss. All nominations were confirmed by unanimous vote.
- Public Safety Committee presented by Commissioners Prinzo: Courtney Tolbert, Mitchell Klein, and Elizabeth Frenzy (SP). All nominees were confirmed by unanimous vote.
 Commissioner Nash expressed gratitude for community nominations.
- 3. Mayor, Council, Agency, Community Organization:
 - 1. Owen Cox (EOM) The Executive Office of Mayor Muriel Bowser presented an update on the Mayor's activities throughout the District and offered DPW service announcements in light of MLK Jr. Holiday, Presidential Inauguration Events, and inclement weather.

Presentations:

1. No January presentation.

Commissioner Prinzo moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Littauer seconded and the motion was approved by voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:07pm.

Attested by

Janell Pagats

Chair, on February 18, 2025

This resolution was approved by voice vote on February 18, 2025, at a scheduled and noticed public meeting of ANC 3C at which a quorum (a minimum of 5 of 8 commissioners) was present.