Advisory Neighborhood Commission 7D Minutes of the Meeting of January 2025

Please note: In compliance with Roberts Rules of Order Newly Revised, 11th Edition, 48, page 468, the minutes of Advisory Neighborhood Commission 7D are a record of actions taken by the Commission, not a record of what people said during the meeting. Accordingly, comments made by Commissioners or members of the public are not recorded in detail in the minutes.

Andrew Lightman opened the Commission meeting.

Commissioners Wright, Davis, Payne, Friend, Astmann, Alcorn, Schapitl and Myers are present.

Councilmember Wendell Felder administered an Oath of Office to Commissioner Schapitl

Councilmember Felder provided an update to Commissioners

Commissioners adopted bylaws for the Commission

Commissioners adopted the January agenda

Commissioners elected 7D officers – Brian Alcorn (Chair), Mike Davis (Vice Chair), Brett Astmann (Treasurer), Dev Myers (Secretary)

Commissioners set meeting dates and times for 2025 and January 2026

MPD Lt. Stephen Miller, 5th District provided an update to Commissioners

MPD Officer Jason Medina, 1st District provided an update to Commissioners

MPD Sergeant Taariq Cephas, 6th District provided an update to Commissioners

Latisha Atkins, Ward 7 MOCR provided an update to Commissioners

Kisha Anderson, Ward 7 DDOT representative provided an update to Commissioners

Commissioners received a presentation from the Department of Corrections on the Jail Annex Project

The Commission opened the floor for Community Comment

The Commission received a Treasurer's Report

The Commission re-appointed Community Member volunteers for its Committees

The Commission received Committee updates

The Commission voted to appoint Michael Bersha to the Public Safety Committee and Junel Jeffrey to the Environmental Committee

Commissioners deliver Single Member District updates