Government of the District of Columbia Advisory Neighborhood Commission 4B

Doug Payton, 4B01 Shamina Christian, 4B02 Keenan Courtland, 4B03 Vacant, 4B04 Sophia Tekola, 4B05



Tiffani Nichole Johnson, 4B06 Michael Cohen, 4B07 Garrett Moore, 4B08 Danielle Geong, 4B09 Jinin Berry, 4B10

Regular Public Meeting Minutes

Monday, January 27, 2025, 7:00 p.m.

1. Call to Order & Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 p.m. by Commissioner Tiffani Nichole Johnson and roll call was conducted by ANC Executive Director Kent Boese. The meeting was held virtually via Zoom, and a recording of the meeting is available on <u>YouTube</u> and on the <u>Commission's website</u>. Commissioners present also included Commissioner Doug Payton (4B01), Commissioner Shamina Christian (4B02), Commissioner Keenan Courtland (4B03), Commissioner Sophia Tekola (4B05), Commissioner Tiffani Nichole Johnson (4B06), Commissioner Michael Cohen (4B07), Commissioner Garrett Moore, (4B08), and Commissioner Danielle Geong (4B09).

- 2. Administrative Items
 - a. Officer Elections

Kent Boese, Executive Director of the Office of Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (OANC), facilitated the election of officers.

- Commissioner Cohen nominated Commissioner Tekola for Chair. Commissioner Tekola was elected Chair by unanimous vote.
- Commissioner Payton nominated Commissioner Johnson for Vice Chair. Commissioner Johnson was elected Vice Chair by unanimous vote.
- Commissioner Geong nominated Commissioner Courtland for Secretary. Commissioner Courtland was elected Secretary by unanimous vote.
- Commissioner Payton nominated Commissioner Cohen for Treasurer. Commissioner Cohen was elected Treasurer by unanimous vote.

Commissioner Tekola assumed role of Chair and noted that Commissioner Berry had joined the meeting 7:10pm and was present.

b. Instructions for Participation in Virtual Meeting

Commissioner Tekola provided instructions for public participation in the meeting.

c. Approval of November 2024 Regular Public Meeting Minutes

Commissioner Tekola presented the November 2024 Regular Public Meeting Minutes. The Minutes were approved as presented.

d. Treasurer's Report/FY25 Q1 quarterly financial report

Commissioner Cohen provided the Treasurer's Report, noting the next steps in establishing the payment system with newly elected officers, and that OANC has not yet provided to the Commission the Quarterly Financial Report for the First Quarter of Fiscal Year 2025.

e. Consideration and approval of January 2025 Regular Public Meeting Agenda

Commissioner Tekola presented the January 2025 Regular Public Meeting Agenda. The Agenda was approved as presented.

3. Commissioner Updates

Commissioners provided updates regarding their Single Member Districts, including community cleanups, office hours, Single Member District and community meetings and events, neighborhood updates, and upcoming DC Council hearings. Several Commissioners expressed gratitude to the Commission and neighbors as they undergo their new or continued terms.

Commissioner Tekola promoted the vacant 4B04 commission and noted 4B04 residents may contact any ANC commissioner in the interim.

- 4. Reports
 - a. Yamileth Escobar, Mayor's Office on Community Relations and Services

Yamileth Escobar, Mayor's Office on Community Relations and Services, provided updates on government services and resources, <u>the upcoming Rolloff</u> sponsored by DPW and the Mayor's Office of the Clean City, <u>Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) Summer Camp Lottery</u> beginning February 3, Capital Parks' Ward-by-Ward,

b. Ward 4 Councilmember Janeese Lewis George

Ward 4 Councilmember Janeese Lewis George, shared congratulations with newly elected officers and ANCs, provided government services and neighborhood updates, including ANC 1:1 meetings with new and returning ANCs, trash and recycling collection as well as shared information about the <u>Councilmember's listening sessions</u>, the reimagining of the Georgia Avenue corridor and the associated Georgia Avenue Revitalization Group, on local bus routes, and on the awards of local schools Whittier, Ida B. Wells, and Lasalle-Backus, and lastly <u>new committee assignments for Councilmembers</u>. Commissioners and members of the community asked questions.

5. Community Concerns

Members of the community were provided the opportunity to present questions or statements.

- 6. Consent Calendar
- 7. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 8:28 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted

Keenan Courtland, Secretary ANC4B